CapitalG
Profile, fund size and portfolio
CapitalG is the corporate venture arm of Alphabet Inc. (technology). It was founded in 2013 and is based in San Francisco, United States. It invests from Series A to Series C+ in software, security, fintech.
Every figure links to its source
Snapshot
Data behind this graphic
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Stage range | Series A to Series C+ |
| Sectors | Software, Security, Fintech, Data, AI, Infrastructure |
| Geography | North America, Europe |
| Offices | San Francisco, United States |
Sources: S4 CapitalG portfolio detail pages (initial investment year and round); S12 CapitalG conversation with Managing Partner Laela Sturdy (30 Aug 2023).
Data behind this graphic
| Item | Companies | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Initial round: Series B | 12 | 26.1% |
| Initial round: Not stated | 12 | 26.1% |
| Initial round: Series D | 9 | 19.6% |
| Initial round: Series C | 6 | 13% |
| Initial round: Series A | 3 | 6.5% |
| Initial round: Series E | 2 | 4.3% |
| Initial round: Series G | 1 | 2.2% |
| Initial round: Series F | 1 | 2.2% |
A company can carry more than one tag
Sources: S4 CapitalG portfolio detail pages (initial investment year and round).
Data behind this graphic
| Measure | Value | Unit | Kind | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Headline size | USD 7bn | Assets under management | Stated by the firm or its parent | S16 |
| Companies backed | 96 | companies | Stated by the firm | S3 |
| IPOs | 16 | IPOs | Stated by the firm | S3 |
| M&A exits | 13 | exits | Stated by the firm | S3 |
| Companies on the firm's portfolio page | 96 | companies | Counted from the firm's own list | S3 |
Sources: S16 TechCrunch: inside Alphabet's $7 billion growth-stage arm CapitalG (16 Feb 2024); S3 CapitalG portfolio (IPO and ACQUIRED tags).
Key facts
| Fact | Value | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Parent company | Alphabet Inc. (Nasdaq: GOOGL, GOOG) | Single source | S12 |
| Parent industry | Technology | Single source | S12 |
| Founded | 2013 | Single source | S19 |
| Headquarters | San Francisco, United States | Single source | S16 |
| Status | Active | Single source | S1 |
| Capital source | Parent company only | Single source | S12 |
| Headline size | USD 7bn (Assets under management) | Single source | S16 |
| Companies backed | 96 | Single source | S3 |
| Exits | 29 total, 16 IPOs, 13 M&A | Single source | S3 |
| People on the team page | 22 | Single source | S2 |
| Stages | Series A, Series B, Series C+ | Single source | S4 |
Portfolio
The firm's portfolio page lists 96 companies: 29 exited.S3
| Tag | Companies | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Initial round: Series B | 12 | 12.5% |
| Initial round: Not stated | 12 | 12.5% |
| Initial round: Series D | 9 | 9.4% |
| Initial round: Series C | 6 | 6.3% |
| Initial round: Series A | 3 | 3.1% |
| Initial round: Series E | 2 | 2.1% |
| Initial round: Series G | 1 | 1% |
| Initial round: Series F | 1 | 1% |
Every company on the CapitalG list
96 companies, as listed on the firm's own website: 67 listed, 29 exited.S3 Read the firm's list.
Listed 67
- Abridge
- Albert
- AlphaSense
- Applied Systems
- Aye
- Base Power
- Baseten
- Bedrock Robotics
- BMI
- Canva
- CarDekho
- Celero Communications
- Chief
- Clay
- Clio
- Collibra
- Constant Contact
- Coupa
- Cribl
- Databricks
- Dataiku
- Digital Currency Group
- DTEX
- Duck Creek Technologies
- Duna
- Everlaw
- Expel
- Farther
- Fireblocks
- Grafana Labs
- Gusto
- Hadrian
- ID.me
- Isomorphic Labs
- K2 Space
- Kalshi
- LangChain
- Lovable
- Magic
- Monzo
- Motif
- MX
- New Relic
- Newfold Digital
- nEye
- NinjaOne
- Odoo
- OMNIA Partners
- OpenRouter
- Orca Security
- Pennylane
- Physical Intelligence
- Pindrop
- Ping Identity
- Proof
- Rippling
- Salt Security
- Stripe
- Strive Health
- TeamSystem
- Tebi
- Thumbtack
- Unqork
- Verkada
- Waymo
- Webflow
- Whatnot
Exited 29
- Airbnb
- Armis
- Astound
- Care.com
- Cloudflare
- Credit Karma
- CrowdStrike
- Dreamer
- Duolingo
- Empower Semiconductor
- FanDuel
- Freshworks
- Full Truck Alliance
- Glassdoor
- Innolight
- LendingClub
- Looker
- Lyft
- MANTL
- MultiPlan
- Next Insurance
- Niantic
- Oscar
- Renaissance
- Robinhood
- Snap
- SurveyMonkey
- UiPath
- Zscaler
Investments by year
For founders
Recent rounds
| Date | Company | Round | Amount | Led by the firm | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-05-26 | OpenRouter | Series B | Not stated | Yes | S14 |
History
Official pages
Read the firm's own pages for current information.
- Website www.capitalg.com
- Portfolio www.capitalg.com/portfolio/
- LinkedIn company page www.linkedin.com/company/capitalg
Sources
- S1CapitalG homeFirm
- S2CapitalG teamFirm
- S3CapitalG portfolio (IPO and ACQUIRED tags)Firm
- S4CapitalG portfolio detail pages (initial investment year and round)Firm
- S5CapitalG: Laela Sturdy pageFirm
- S6CapitalG: Gene Frantz pageFirm
- S7CapitalG: James Luo pageFirm
- S8CapitalG: Jill Greenberg Chase pageFirm
- S9CapitalG: Alex Nichols pageFirm
- S12CapitalG conversation with Managing Partner Laela Sturdy (30 Aug 2023)Firm
- S13CapitalG: newest general partners Jill Chase and Alex Nichols (21 Jan 2026)Firm
- S14CapitalG: leading OpenRouter's Series B (26 May 2026)Firm
- S16TechCrunch: inside Alphabet's $7 billion growth-stage arm CapitalG (16 Feb 2024)Press
- S17Google blog: Google Capital, investing in growth (19 Feb 2014)Parent company
- S18TechCrunch: Google Capital changes its name to CapitalG (4 Nov 2016)Press
- S19Wikipedia: CapitalGPress
- S21SEC EDGAR submissions: Alphabet Inc. (CIK 0001652044)Filing
Disclaimer and corrections
Not affiliated. This page is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by CapitalG or any company named on it. Names and trademarks belong to their owners. Informational only. This is a public-source reference. It is not investment, legal or tax advice and not an offer or solicitation. Sources. Each figure names its source. Figures may have changed. Please read the firm's official pages, linked above. Corrections and takedown. To report an error or ask for a change or removal, use the correction form or email Richard@CorporateVentureCapital.com.
Spotted a mistake? Report a correction.